Skip to Content Skip to Navigation Show Trail Map Show About the Trail Show Important Trail Details Read Trail Reviews
Support Our Trails

Sixty Foot Falls, Ellis Brook Valley, Gosnells

  • 1-3 hours
  • 2.1 km
    • Bush Walk Grade 4

This walk is a short but steep climb to the top of the spectacular Sixty Foot Falls, affording magnificent views of the City and the valley along the way, before descending past the old Barrington Quarry where old workings provide a window into the geology of the area.

Climbing the hill
Earn 3 Points Waterfalls Wildflower Wanderer

Trail Start

Get directions

Ellis Brook Valley Reserve in Banyowla Regional Park. At the end of Rushton Road, Martin (one hour from Perth)

A platform that overlooks the sixty foot falls
Logo for Leave no Trace Initiative

Trails WA supports the seven principles recommended by Leave No Trace Australia for minimising your impacts when using the trails.

Learn more

The Ellis Brook Valley in Banyowla Regional Park is a beautiful place just on the edge of the city and on the Darling Scarp. There are four walk trails catering for every fitness level. Sixty Foot Falls Trail is the hardest of the four trails and rewards the walker with spectacular views of the city.

The waterfall flow depends on the rainfall during winter months. It can range from water pumping over the edge, plunging into the pool below, a trickle or nothing at all. 

There are lovely wildflowers in the Spring months of September and November. 

Perth Hills Armadale Visitor Centre

(08) 9394 5410

National Parks

Other Links

Expand your trip and enjoy great businesses nearby

Off The Beaten Track WA

Off The Beaten Track WA (OTBT) is Perth’s leading premier Hiking Experience & Adventure Tour operator, providing guests with over 70 safe, fun, inclusive experiences in a fully supported environment.

Photo of Off The Beaten Track WA

Be trail ready for Sixty Foot Falls, Ellis Brook Valley, Gosnells

Here is everything you need to know before visiting this trail.

Time / Duration

Around an hour

Length

2.1 km loop

What To Pack

Group B (Bushwalks and/or longer trails) required.

Trail Start

Ellis Brook Valley Reserve in Banyowla Regional Park. At the end of Rushton Road, Martin (one hour from Perth)

Get directions

Trail End

Ruston Road, Martin

Bush Walk

Grade 4

Bushwalking experience recommended. Tracks may be long, rough and very steep. Directional signage may be limited.

Difficulty Notes

Steep sections of trail

Hazards & Warnings

Snakes may be active during the warmer months (August to April)

Safety

Stay on trail. Do not approach edge of waterfall.

Facilities

Dogs permitted on leash only.
Gates closed overnight.
Drinking water is not available so be sure to bring a water bottle and there are no bins on site, so please take your rubbish home.
The entry gates on Rushton Road will remain locked and vehicle access to the reserve will not be available on days when the Fire Danger Rating is declared at very high or extreme. On any other day the Rushton Road entry gates will be opened from 6:00am and closed at 7:00pm.
Free Entry.

  • BBQ Facilities
  • Car Park
  • Dog Friendly
  • Interpretive Centre
  • Lookouts
  • Parking for Disabled
  • Picnic Area
  • Public Toilet
  • Shaded Area
  • Sheltered Area
  • Toilet Facilities for Disabled
  • View Platform
  • Coach Parking

Best time of year

During the wetter months, June to November. Wildflowers best September to November

Trail Access

2WD access via Rushton Road, Martin, approximately 30 kilometres south east of Perth.

Prohibited Items

Fires and off road vehicles prohibited. 

Edge shaped like mountain horizon
topography pattern

Complete Sixty Foot Falls, Ellis Brook Valley, Gosnells to earn badges and points!

Earn points and badges and become a "TrailsWA Expert" by completing trails and leaving reviews.

Earn 3 Points

Earn 3 points towards
your TrailsWA level

Waterfalls Wildflower Wanderer

Earn the Waterfalls , and Wildflower Wanderer badges when you complete this trail.

Edge shaped like mountain horizon
Alt text

15 trail goers have rated Sixty Foot Falls, Ellis Brook Valley, Gosnells as 4.07 out of 5!

We love to hear from people who've been on our Western Australian trails, so it would be most appreciated it if you wanted to leave a review.

Jarra Smith

Reviewed 2 Oct 2021, 9:22am

Really enjoyable hike. Nice view of the city, waterfall and quarry. Great for kids as it's not too long but a fair workout.
Jana Coker

Reviewed 20 Aug 2020, 9:52pm

Great walk, I went clockwise which meant to cross the bridge on your left and go towards the quarry first, then continue to the falls and then down. It was much easier this way but most people seems to be going to the falls first, huffing and puffing as it's quite steep and then going towards the quarry. No idea how someone could get lost it's really well signposted with orange markets on small wooden pillars.
Holly Crofts

Reviewed 19 Apr 2020, 1:55pm

We loved this trail. I went with my partner and 2 year old (in a carrier). The climb up is steep and up lots of steps, we were puffed and it was a good work out. It took us 15-20 minutes to get to the top. The climb down also involved lots of steps and rocks. Lovely views all over, I'm sure it would be even more stunning when the water is running. We saw lots of young kids maybe 6 years and upwards doing the walk. Probably doesn't suit younger children unless you are able to carry them. We also enjoyed a picnic at nearby picnic area.
Erin Clark

Reviewed 25 Jun 2018, 11:12am

Had a great time hiking this trail with Young Perth Hikers Meetup with our dogs. We teamed it with the Blue Wren trail as well to add a bit more distance. Check out more detailed review on The Ruff Lyfe http://therufflyfe.com.au/dog-hike-review-ellis-brook-valley/
Grace G

Reviewed 17 May 2018, 3:07pm

Very nice trail loop to complete if you are short on time. Took my friend and I around 30minutes to complete. When entering the trail, we initially went left overt he bridge but got completely lost. Would definitely recommend walking straight instead of turning left across a bridge (ending the trail loop on the bridge instead).

It was relatively difficult, with a lot of stairs and a few rocks. There is 3 look out areas on the way to the top so perfect to take a rest without blocking the path. At the very top, there is a rock opening with two trails heading either left or right. Initially when we completed the hike we went left- this was the incorrect way and we ended up having to turn around. The correct way is to turn right (a much wider trail)

Get pretty busy on the weekends, with a lot of people completing the trail with dogs.
Lillian Khiat

Reviewed 10 May 2018, 9:01pm

Went with my hubby today after lunch. Almost got lost but able to complete overall. Love the view although a bit too sunny due to afternoon sun. Overall still think worth going for it
Lillian Khiat

Reviewed 10 May 2018, 9:00pm

Went with my hubby today after lunch. Almost got lost but able to complete overall. Love the view although a bit too sunny due to afternoon sun. Overall still think worth going for it
Sarah Nevison

Reviewed 8 May 2018, 1:19pm

Not a bad walk, only took about an hour. A bit steep in places, but plenty of steps and rest areas for a break.
Really lovely scenery, and the park has a number of walks to do for a full day out. The one problem is that at the top of the trail there are fewer signs to direct you, and they are harder to find, but not impossible.
Mitt Ramgobin

Reviewed 13 Sep 2017, 11:46am

I did this trail with my wife and 17 months old. He was in a baby backpack and enjoyed the whole trail, Initial plan was to do only the blue wren trail but after finishing it, we felt game for more. Aided by the fact other parents with babies were coming down the trail. In my opinion, the trail is not difficult. A bit steep at some spots but it was all manageable with a baby on my back, and my wife and I are not the fittest around. All in all it was a great family activity and will certainly go back next spring. Will bring the dogs as well.
Hanoz Kapadia

Reviewed 27 Jun 2017, 11:51am

Nice trail to walk. Challenging enough and good views. Being within the Perth Metro Area makes it a great getaway to get some nature time without having to plan for it or drive too far.
Anne Ellis

Reviewed 20 May 2017, 9:18am

I have done this trek several times, and always enjoy it. It is good for dogs and kids (mine were 6yrs the first time, probably couldn't have managed it themselves much younger than that). There are rocks and steps along the path. We always go anti-clockwise, which means we are climbing up the steep section (I take a climbing stick, but everyone else manages without!). Then we stop at the top for lunch, views and a rest. Then back down the descending path past the quarry. There is one section just before the final bridge where you must descend a steep rocky outcrop that is always a bit challenging. But all up, a good outing to get the kids into nature.
Macie R

Reviewed 13 Aug 2016, 5:37pm

Waterfall was easy to see from many spots, and plenty of opportunities to see/hear water. There were a few wet/slippery/muddy sections. Some stairs, some rocks. We went clockwise and felt less tired than people looked coming the other way! (But you can go anti-clockwise a few hundred metres if you just want the waterfall view.) Great to see a dog-friendly trail, too.
Alan Boyd

Reviewed 14 Jun 2016, 11:51am

I live only a 5 minute drive from this location so try to check it out whenever I can as it's a good hike for fitness, It's a short hike at probably 25-30 minutes if you don't stop but I just do multiple laps. Park is only open from 8am to 5pm,
Nicole Fenwick

Reviewed 30 May 2016, 4:46pm

It was a great hike but it was quite steep. We liked the views and had a great afternoon.
paul golder

Reviewed 22 May 2016, 9:36pm

Awesome hike. I wish I could have stayed . but the park close at 5 .

Like this trail? Explore others nearby

More around Perth & Surrounds

Supported by great organisations

Trails are free and bring so many benefits to our community by providing opportunities to have fun, get fit, socialise, explore and challenge yourself. But they also have to be managed and maintained which only is made possible through terrific sponsors, donations and/or volunteering.

topography pattern