Constructed of bricks salvaged from several old Coolgardie Hotels and with stage, fly tower, and pressed metal ceiling from the Tivoli Theatre in Coolgardie, Cummins Theatre opened in Merredin on the 11th of October 1928. Brewer James Cummins had the theatre built. He and later, his daughter Alice, operated a brewery in Merredin until the 1940’s. Their graves can be seen at the Pioneer Cemetery. The Theatre archives boast one of the best collections of Australian performers in the State. Tours of the theatre are available Mon - Fri 10am - 4pm.